Communication in Japan Weblog











{November 20, 2008}   And more train experiences

I don’t know why, but I keep on noticing things in the train lately…

Anyway, we all (well, at least I think we all) know that the Japanese girls (maybe guys??? who knows… it’s Japan, but so far I’ve only seen girls) can put on their make-up as the train is moving.  This one time, as the train was moving, a Japanese girl was standing without leaning on anything, and was putting on her make-up!!  I thought that was so cool!  I mean, putting on foundation, eye-liner, eye-shadow, lipstick, etc… like “Whoa!”  Well, foundation is ok, but still, eye-liner??!! Now I think that takes some skill.  (Well, I don’t often use make-up, so I don’t really know…)

Ok, guess what I found out Japanese guys do in trains this morning?  They SHAVE!!!!  (Well, not all guys shave in the train, just as not all girls put on make-up in the train… so yeah)  Whoa!!!  This guy had this automatic shaving thingy and was just rolling the machine around his chin.  Well, I didn’t ask him what he was doing because I don’t know that much Japanese (and wouldn’t it be strange to randomly approach someone sitting and shaving??)  But, it still looked like the guy was shaving.  I thought it was different, so I decided to share that bit of information ^_~.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
